From 1846-1947, Iowa governors were not provided a residence, with the only exception being Governor William L. Harding (1917-1921). 

In 1947 the State of Iowa purchased a colonial home at 2900 Grand Avenue to serve as the official governor’s residence. 

By 1970, the residence was no longer sufficient to accommodate the needs of the state to serve as a venue to host visiting dignitaries. Amid talk of building a new Governor’s residence, in 1971 the Hubbell family donated Terrace Hill to the State of Iowa. 

Later that year, the Terrace Hill Planning Commission designated Terrace Hill as the official residence of the Iowa governor.

Governor Robert D. Ray

Governor Ray, First Lady Billie Ray, and their three daughters moved into Terrace Hill in 1976. Governor Ray served from 1968-1983.

Governor Terry E. Branstad

The next First Family to live at Terrace Hill was Governor Branstad, First Lady Chris Branstad, and their three children. Governor Branstad served from 1983-1999.

Governor Thomas J. Vilsack

Governor Vilsack, First Lady Christie Vilsack, and their two sons lived in Terrace Hill from 1999-2007.

Governor Chester John “Chet” Culver

Terrace Hill was home to Governor Culver, First Lady Mari Culver, and their two children from 2007-2011.

Governor Terry E. Branstad

With Governor Branstad's re-election in November 2010, Terrace Hill  became the home of Governor Branstad and First Lady Chris Branstad once again in 2011. The Branstads resided at Terrace Hill for a combined total of 22 1/2 years. In 2017, Governor Branstad stepped down to become the United States Ambassador to China.

Governor Kimberly K. Reynolds

Governor Kim Reynolds is the 43rd and current governor of Iowa. She is the first female governor to be elected in the State of Iowa. Reynolds previously served as the Lieutenant Governor of Iowa from 2011-2017. Governor Reynolds and First Gentleman Kevin Reynolds moved into Terrace Hill in 2017.

Learn more about Governor Kim Reynolds and First Gentlemen Kevin Reynolds on the Office of the Governor of Iowa website.